top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

To Paint a Dwarf

A few months ago, I was given a resin miniature by an old friend of mine who I haven't seen in a long time. It turns out he was into miniature painting as I am into wargaming, and has opened a modest shop that sells miniatures for modellers and hobbyists. I am no professional painter, but was humbled that he was keen on seeing my efforts. After some procrastination and delays, I got started.

It turns out that the miniature was of good quality and make, with very minute details that stand out once I started painting it. So began the scattered quest of painting Drognil the Dwarf.

I primed with black paint spray on the parts and started to base coat them separately.

Started off with the skin and hair, using my own set of Citadel Paints, since it's mostly what I have. I thought it worked fine.

Next I decided to work on the metallics and cloth. I used Scale 75 paints for the metal parts and continued with Citadel for the fabrics. Once the layer paints are added, the details of the model starts to stand out.

At this point (several slow weeks and other work stuff later), the model is assembled and touched up with highlights, and I now looked to basing. Turns out that the base provided hardly works! No biggie, I furnished a cork stand to glue on to it instead, and poked holes into the base to fit the model's pegs.

Thus Drognil the Dwarf stands ready for battle! I hope this post was intriguing enough for you. If anyone is interested in the model, do feel free to check out Danny Soh's PlasMo-Hero store, located at Army Market, Beach Road, #02-194. Thanks for reading!


bottom of page